The action alert you are attempting to access is no longer active.

However, we would like to keep you apprised of how ARRA has been involved on this issue by providing the text of the original action alert that was sent to our members. If you have not already done so, please join ARRA to receive any updates on this issue that may occur as well as other important action alerts.

Original Action Alert:

Send a Message to Lawmakers that Signed a Letter Urging Secretary Jewell to Provide a List of Sites Being Targeted for National Monument Designation.

Recently ARRA alerted you that Interior Secretary Sally Jewell said in a speech, “If Congress doesn’t step up to act to protect some of these important places that have been identified by communities and people throughout the country, then the President will take action. There’s no question that if Congress doesn’t act, we will.” Jewell was referring to designating huge swaths of public lands as National Monuments. Now 34 Members of Congress have written Jewell to ask her to recognize that these sorts of designations should be, “made by Congress in an open, transparent, and public manner using extraordinary caution.” The letter also urges Jewell to provide Congress a comprehensive list of the “important places” referenced in her comments that the administration is considering for national monument designations, along with a proposed timeline. Lastly, the letter requests that the state’s congressional delegation receive notification at least 90 days in advance of the Administration designating a monument within that particular state.

Since you are a constituent of at least one of the Members who signed the letter it is imperative that you click the Send Message button to send an email thanking your Member(s) for taking action.

The 34 Members who signed the letter are: Senators Heller (R-NV), Enzi (R-WY), Flake (R-AZ), Crapo (R-ID), Barrasso (R-WY), Risch (R-ID), Johanns (R-NE), Lee (R-UT), Murkowski (R-AK), Hatch (R-UT), Thune (R-SD), Coburn (R-OK), Vitter (R-LA), and Scott (R-SC) and Representatives Bishop (R-UT), Gosar (R-AZ), Daines (R-MT), Heck (R-NV), Amodei (R-NV), Chaffetz (R-UT), Cramer (R-ND), Pearce (R-NM), Franks (R-AZ), Young (R-AK), Coffman (R-CO), McCarthy (R-CA), Stewart (R-UT), LaMalfa (R-CA), Westmoreland (R-GA), Schweikert (R-AZ), Lummis (R-WY), Labrador (R-ID), Gohmert (R-TX), Walden (R-OR).